ComicsChildrenHumorFitnessReferenceITLawCookingHobbiesTeachingSelf-HelpPhotoFantasyHistoryTestsCalendarsFictionLGBTTeenagersTransportMemorisMedicineMysteryRelationshipsPoliticsBusinessSpiritualityRomanceBiblesMathSportTravelOtherNo category
» » Aunt Jo's Scrap-Bag
Aunt Jo's Scrap-Bag e-book

Author:

Louisa May Alcott

Language:

English

Category:

Comics

Subcategory:

Graphic Novels

ePub size:

1778 kb

Other formats:

mbr lrf lit azw

Rating:

4.2

Publisher:

Adamant Media Corporation (October 12, 2000)

Pages:

130

ISBN:

0543896749

Aunt Jo's Scrap-Bag e-book

by Louisa May Alcott


2004 · Приключения и боевики.

2004 · Приключения и боевики. ВОСХИТИТЕЛЬНАЯ КОМЕДИЯ! "Плохая Соседка" Российские комедии, фильмы онлайн - Продолжительность: 1:34:35 Комедийка Recommended for you.

ГлавнаяЗарубежная классикаЛуиза Мэй ОлкоттAunt Jo's Scrap-Bag

ГлавнаяЗарубежная классикаЛуиза Мэй ОлкоттAunt Jo's Scrap-Bag. Уменьшить шрифт (-) Увеличить шрифт (+). Луиза Мэй Олкотт Aunt Jo's Scrap-Bag.

Comprising Pleasure Books of Literature produced in the Choicest Style as Companionable Volumes at Home and Abroad

Comprising Pleasure Books of Literature produced in the Choicest Style as Companionable Volumes at Home and Abroad. We can hardly imagine better books for boys to read or for men to ponder over. Встречается в книгах (419) с 1869 по 1969.

Book 3. Cupid and Chow Chow. by Louisa May Alcott. I don't care to disturb his happy childhood with.

by. Louisa May Alcott.

Feeling that I have been unusually fortunate in my knowledge of a choice and pleasing variety of this least appreciated portion of the human race, I have a fancy to record some of my experiences, hoping that it may awaken a. .

Feeling that I have been unusually fortunate in my knowledge of a choice and pleasing variety of this least appreciated portion of the human race, I have a fancy to record some of my experiences, hoping that it may awaken an interest in other minds, and cause other people to cultivate the delightful, but too often neglected boys, who now run to waste .

Report an error in the book.

12- My May-Day Among Curious Birds and Beasts13:32.

The only way in which this affliction may be lightened to along-suffering public is to make the work as cheerful and as short aspossible. Louisa M. alcott, Author of'Little women,' 'An old-fashioned girl,' 'Little men,''hospital sketches. LONDON:SAMPSON LOW, MARSTON & COMPANY LIMITED,St. Dunstan's House,FETTER LANE, FLEET STREET, . low's standard series of books by popular writers. Small crown 8vo. cloth gilt, 2 s. ; gilt edges, 2 s. 6 d. each. 1. ALCOTT, L. M. Little Men. 2. WHITNEY, Mrs. Hitherto. The only way in which this affliction may be lightened to along-suffering public is to make the work as cheerful and as short aspossible.

This Elibron Classics title is a reprint of the original edition published by Sampson Low, Marston & Company Ltd in London. This book is in English. This book contains 129 pages.
Ffleg
For fans of Little Women and Louisa May Alcott, or if you just love short, sweet stories, this is for you. Here's a few descriptions of some of my favorite stories found in Aunt Jo's Scrap Bag.

I enjoyed “My May-Day Among Curious Birds and Beasts” in which the narrator sweetly tells of the sights of a visit to the Zoological Gardens in London. It is obviously based on Louisa's own travels. I think it would make for a delightful read-aloud to children, since there are lots of interesting animals that make an appearance in the story.

One story that is just so comical, just so demure, and a bit too fun, is “The Children's Joke”. My, my. What a laugh, what a riot. Two children get to play the part of the parents all day long, while the parents must be subjected to play the part of children. Each side learns big truths about the other, and that sometimes life is less stressful when you just do the best you can in the life you're given.

I actually was reading this short story collection Aunt Jo's Scrap Bag while I simultaneously was reading a biography on Miss Alcott, entitled Invincible Louisa, and it was perfect timing! I kept seeing so many parallels between Louisa's own life and the stories she was writing. Most of her stories pulled in so many details of what was happening with her and the rest of the Alcott family in real life. It was fantastic to see the similarities!

In the story “My Boys” Louisa writes of several boys who left an impressionable mark on her life. In it, we see she is starting to sketch out the character of beloved Laurie, though in this early story he is named Laddie. (I actually learned more of the history behind Laurie's character in Invincible Louisa, wherein the reader gets to meet the actual boy who both Laddie and Laurie are based on. (Pretty cool stuff can be found in history and literature, eh?)

Although not exactly a favorite, “Madam Cluck and Her Family” stands out to me, as it was a strange and grave sort of story. It's starts with this delightfully misleading line: “There never was a prouder mamma than Madam Cluck when she led forth her family of eight downy little chicks.” The story progresses as each of the chicks dies off in some unfortunate way. A comically grim and rather surprising plot choice, coming from Miss Alcott.

Overall, a delightful batch of stories that I greatly enjoyed!
Celen
The very first book that I read by Louisa May Alcott was Little Women. And my favorite character was Jo. This little book is written by Louisa using Jo (from Little Women) to tell these wonderful short stories. Each one is different and I found all of them very interesting to read. The one that I found the most meaningful is the last story entitled: Patty's Patchwork. This little story has so much wisdom in it and it is written so vividly that I can envision Patty now. First of all, it covers making a quilt and how to design the quilt and make the quilt attractive and very meaningful! Since I am a huge patchwork quilt person, this chapter is dear to my heart.

Personally, I have read several of Louisa's books, yet this one (along with Little Women) is among my favorite classic books!

Highly recommend this book, especially if you like short stories AND Louisa May Alcott!
Nahn
This is a very fun and interesting book. It is a collection of delightful short stories—some interesting, some moral, some sweet, and some sad-but-sweet-at-the-end. Though I didn't greatly enjoy every story, I at least liked them all, and I loved many of them. It was wonderful to read so many very different stories in one book.
I definitely recommend this delightful book to all readers of Louisa May Alcott, and readers of classic literature in general.
Redfury
Alcott was my favorite author growing up. I still enjoy her cute stories and recommend them to children and adults.
BeatHoWin
I really enjoyed this collection. The last story was my favorite.
Oreavi
This is a collection of stories, some better than others. One story is about a fly she kept as a pet. Yes, you did read right. She had a pet fly! With what we know today about flies and the germs they carry, the story today is truly weird.. Goes to show how times change, and people with them!
AGAD
Interesting. First story explains the model for the character of Laurie in Little Women under the guise of Aunt Jo. Did not know this little tidbit.
I have a hardbound copy of this book from 1929. I grew up on Louisa May Alcott, and just had to put them in my Kindle. It was a delight to find out that they are available for the Kindle. Old and new, some things are never out of date!

e-Books related to Aunt Jo's Scrap-Bag